Young Democrats of Georgia elect new leadership

April 20, 2011

The Young Democrats of Georgia held their annual convention this past weekend in St. Simon’s Island, electing a new leadership team that will guide the organization into the coming election year. A full list of newly elected officers is below.

“We’re really excited about the future of the Democratic Party in Georgia, and being able to help put President Obama over the top in 2012 by putting our state in the win column,” said Louis Elrod, newly elected President. Young voters played a critical role in the 2008 election cycle, and brought Georgia, commonly known as a red state, on the verge of voting for Obama.

According to Elrod, a new initiative of the Young Democrats of Georgia will be a training and educational institute known as the “Young Democrats of Georgia University.” “What we’re going to do is create a regional program so Young Democrats in our state can come together to train in the latest campaign techniques and help turn Georgia blue in 2012,” said Elrod.

The Young Democrats of Georgia are an affiliate of both the Democratic Party of Georgia and the Young Democrats of America and welcome members between the ages of 14 and 40. For more information, visit

Young Democrats of Georgia Officers 2011-2014

Louis Elrod

Executive Vice President
Steve Golden

Vice President of Membership
Gary D. Harrell

Vice President of Finance
Fal Hindash

Jen Rafanan

Kelli Persons

National Committee Man
Leslie Small

National Committee Woman
Ava Fredericks

Metro Atlanta Region Director
Jonae Wartel

Northeast GA Region Director
Al Turnell

Northwest GA Region Director
Cari Cantrell

Middle GA Region Director
Chris Sloan

Southwest GA Region Director
Leah Ryals

Southeast GA Region Director
Josh Rewis (Interim)

Young Democrats of Georgia University Director
Daniel Fullerton

College Democrats of Georgia
John Koch

High School Democrats of Georgia
Xavier Swain

Women’s Caucus
Haley Shank

Minority Caucus
Harold Washington

Stonewall Caucus
Tyler Alley

Appointed Positions:

Communications Director

Political Director
Joel Mendelson

Campaigns Committee Chair

Charter and By-Laws Committee Chair
Kirk Miller

Membership Committee Chair


Other News from DPG

Questions? Tips? Call anytime.

Georgia Voter Protection Line


Democratic Party of Georgia

Help us elect Democrats in Georgia.