After Republican Lawmakers Voted To Pass Anti-Abortion Legislation, Democratic Party of Georgia Announces Blue Challengers Initiative To Replace Them

March 29, 2019

“We Are Coming For Their Seats”

ATLANTA – Today, following the passage of House Bill 481 through the Republican-controlled General Assembly, the Democratic Party of Georgia announced the Blue Challengers Initiative, a new candidate recruitment effort to identify and support Democratic candidates in targeted districts whose Republican lawmakers allowed the bill to pass.

“In passing the abortion ban, Republicans have shown that they can’t be trusted to make decisions on behalf of Georgia women, Georgia’s healthcare system, or Georgia’s economy,” said Nikema WIlliams, Chair of the Democratic Party of Georgia. “We can’t afford to let them continue to take our state backwards. The Blue Challengers Initiative is our first step to replace these lawmakers with strong Democrats who will fight for our values.”

The DPG’s candidate recruitment efforts support prospective candidates by connecting them with the resources, training, and support they need to engage with voters and win in their home districts. The Blue Challengers Initiative will amplify this work by actively recruiting women and men in these swing districts to ensure that every one of those lawmakers has a strong Democratic challenger.

“As Democrats, we are committed to supporting and electing candidates that truly represent Georgia – which includes the many voters who oppose extreme bills like the abortion ban, especially when so many women in our state lack access to healthcare,” said Adrienne White, DPG Vice Chair of Candidate Recruitment. “By starting early to recruit strong challengers in these legislative districts, we will effectively mobilize voters across the state and win in 2020.”

The initiative focuses on the following legislators:

Rep. Heath Clark (District 47 – Warner Robbins)
Rep. Brett Harrell (District 106 – Snellville)
Rep. David Clark (District 98 – Buford)
Rep. Dale Rutledge (District 109 – McDonough)
Rep. Sharon Cooper (District 43 – Marietta)
Rep. Ron Stephens (District 164 – Savannah)
Rep. Bonnie Rich (District 97 – Suwanee)
Rep. Chuck Martin (District 49 – Alpharetta)
Rep. Houston Gaines (District 117 – Athens)
Rep. Gerald Greene (District 151 – Cuthbert)
Rep. Marcus Wiedower (District 119 – Watkinsville)
Rep. Mike Cheokus (District 138 – Americus)
Rep. Debra Silcox (District 52 – Sandy Springs)
Rep. Ed Setzler (District 35 – Actworth)
Rep. Chuck Efstration (District 104 – Dacula)
Rep. Don Parsons (District 44- Kennesaw)

Sen. PK Martin (District 9 – Lawrenceville)
Sen. Bruce Thompson (District 14 – White)
Sen. Marty Harbin (District 16 – Tyrone)
Sen. Brian Strickland (District 17 – McDonough)
Sen. Brandon Beach (District 21 – Alpharetta)
Sen. Greg Dolezal (District 27 – Cumming)
Sen. Matt Brass (District 28 – Newnan)
Sen. Mike Dugan (District 30 – Carrollton)
Sen. Kay Kirkpatrick (District 32 – Marietta)
Sen. Lindsey Tippins (District 37 – Marietta)
Sen. Renee Unterman (District 45 – Buford)
Sen. John Albers (District 56 – Roswell)


Other News from DPG

Questions? Tips? Call anytime.

Georgia Voter Protection Line


Democratic Party of Georgia

Help us elect Democrats in Georgia.